Forecast 6: Nominees Announced

The Six Mentors Have Each Selected Three Projects

Forecast again enables an extended mentoring period for all eighteen nominees.

We’re delighted to announce the eighteen nominees of Forecast 6. Out of nearly 600 applications, the six mentors of Forecast’s 2021–22 edition have each identified three projects that they will accompany remotely from May until the Forecast Forum in September. In response to the restrictions on travel and gatherings imposed by the ongoing pandemic, but also acknowledging an increased need for support among cultural producers, Forecast has again decentralized its resources and pushed the Forum from the summer to the fall to enable an extended mentoring period for all eighteen nominees.


The nominees of Forecast's sixth edition

Following the Forum, which will take place as a digital event, each mentor will select one mentee. Those six mentees’ projects will be further accompanied to completion, and presented at the Forecast Festival in April 2022, at radialsystem in Berlin.

Forecast congratulates the nominees in each category:

From Stories to Spaces
Mentor: architect Tatiana Bilbao
Nominees: Yasmin Schönmann (Germany); Luísa Sol (Portugal); Sarah Oberrauch (Italy)

Data Democracy and the Green Transition
Mentor: digital policy expert Francesca Bria (Italy)
Nominees: Jaya Klara Brekke (Sweden); Walter Palmetshofer (Austria); Pamela Breda (Italy)

Sound as Organized Time
Mentor: experimental singer and composer Sofia Jernberg (Sweden)
Nominees: Flora Détraz (France); Talia de Vries (Israel); Rylan Gleave (United Kingdom)

Translating Sensations
Mentor: cartoonist Ulli Lust (Austria)
Nominees: Ness Ilene Garza (United States); M.S. Harkness (United States); Özge Samancı (United States/Turkey)

Unlimited Gestures
Mentor: choreographer Mathilde Monnier (France)
Nominees: Simona Deaconescu (Romania); Aída Herrera Peña (Colombia); Moussa Samake (Burkina Faso)

Sensing the World
Mentor: artist Emeka Ogboh (Nigeria)
Nominees: Awuor Onyango (Kenya); Iman Jesmi (Iran); Timothy Lee (United States)

For information on the individual projects, go to Nominees.