Renan Laru-an

The Artist and the Social Dreamer

 

Das kuratorische Projekt The Artist and the Social Dreamer von Renan Laru-an widmet sich dem Medium der formellen Rede im Kontext der Ausstellung. Es nimmt dabei Formen von Globalisierung in den Fokus, die durch den Internationalismus autoritärer Führer entstehen. Diktatoren wie der libysche Machthaber Muammar al-Gaddafi, Imelda und Ferdinand Marcos oder Nur Misuari benutzten ihre Reden dazu, ihre postkoloniale Geschichte, Ethnien und Nationalitäten zu instrumentalisieren. The Artist and the Social Dreamer widmet sich diesen Dokumenten aus Perspektive des Kurators.

 

„Zentrale, ‚revolutionäre‘ Stimmen der postkolonialen Rückeroberung und des nationalistischen Eifers fanden in ihrer Förderung essentialistischer geogra-fischer Cluster und politischer Allianzen internationalen Widerhall. Sie warben um Solidarität mit den Unterdrückten im Kampf gegen die hegemonialen Kräfte. Auf ihre Weise erschufen Gaddafi, die Marcos und Misuari eine Art Mischform aus Internationalismus und Globalisierung – in welcher der Einsatz künstlerischer und kuratorischer Mittel über den Fundamentalismus in ihrem Kern hinwegtäuschte.“

 

The Artist and the Social Dreamer liest die mediale Form der Rede vor dem Hinter-grund der Ausstellung. Dabei erforscht das Projekt die Fertigkeit der Diktatoren, Bilder und Überzeugungen durch Worte und Diplomatie entstehen zu lassen. Es begreift die Ausstellung als eine Form von Rede und zeichnet nach, wie eine einzelne Stimme im Vorgang des Kuratierens Pluralität hervorbringt. Wo liegt die Grenze zwischen Rede und Präsentation? Inwieweit kann das Ausstellungsma-chen Gegenreden inszenieren? In seinem Vergleich von Rede-als-Ausstellung und Ausstellung-als-Rede, insbesondere im Falle der prominenten Autokraten, proble-matisiert das Projekt letztendlich auch das architektonische Gerüst vieler globaler Ausstellungen.

Laru-an kuratiert internationale Projekte und ist tätig in Forschung und Lehre. Zu seinen politisch orientierten Arbeiten zählt u. a. das Filmprogramm lend me your softness (Juli 2016), das sich mit Politiken physischer Sicherheit beschäftigte. 2017 verantwortet er als Co-Kurator das OK. Video Indonesia Media Arts Festival.

Renan Laru-an lebt und arbeitet auf den Philippinen.

#1026_Renan-Laruan_web
Former Philippine Dictator President Ferdinand Marcos on the cover of the New Philippines Magazine, 1976 (Foto: Vargas Museum and Filipiniana Research Center)

Renan Laru-an

The Artist and the Social Dreamer

 

Renan Laru-an’s project proposal The Artist and the Social Dreamer is a curatorial plan that puts the medium of formal orations at the heart of an exhibition, focusing on forms of globalization created by the internationalisms of authoritarian leaders. Libyan Prime Minister Muammar Gaddafi, Imelda and Ferdinand Marcos, Nur Misuari, and other dictators have used speeches to instrumentalize their postcolonial histories, ethnicities, and nationalities. The Artist and the Social Dreamer examines such speeches through a curator’s lens.

 

“Center of the world, ‘revolutionary’ voices of postcolonial recuperation and nationalist fervor resonated transnationally, promoting essentialist geographic clusters and political alliances. They rallied for the solidarity of the oppressed and the fight against hegemonic forces. In their own terms, Gaddafi, the Marcoses, and Misuari initiated a hybrid form of internationalism and globalization—deploying artistic and curatorial gestures that belied the fundamentalism at their core.”

 

The Artist and the Social Dreamer reads the medium of the speech against the form of an exhibition, exploring these dictators’ ability to create images and convictions through their diplomacy and words. The project considers the exhibition as a form of speech and investigates how a single voice can develop plurality when curating an exhibition. What is the threshold between speech and showing? What are the limitations of exhibition-making in enacting counterspeeches? With the parallel conditions of speech-as-exhibition and exhibition-as-speech, especially in the cases of these prominent autocrats, this curatorial project has the ultimate goal of problematizing the architectural scaffolding of many global exhibitions.

Laru-an’s previous work encompasses international curatorial projects, research, and teaching. Works with a similar political focus include his screening program lend me your softness (July 2016), which concentrated on the politics of physical security.

Renan Laru-an is a curator and researcher living and working in the Philippines. He is jointly curating the 2017 OK. Video Indonesia Media Arts Festival.

#1026_Renan-Laruan_web
Former Philippine Dictator President Ferdinand Marcos on the cover of the New Philippines Magazine, 1976 (Photo: Vargas Museum and Filipiniana Research Center)